the end of one season and the start of the new.

At the start of the harvest time last year I shared with you our first crops of the season. Today I cleared the brassicas that have been under attack from pigeons all winter – much to my distress, and planted in their place the potatoes for the coming year. It was a sign of handing over the baton to another year of potential, involving the weather, our effort, opportunities for head-space and the reward in what we get to eat.

Each year we start with a revised planting plan, more back ache, a new set of gloves and opportunities for me to draw and record the plants to provide further inspiration for my art and design work. As I have also spent the last few days designing, cutting and printing new lino blocks, the creative process of doing so reminds me very much of being a gardener; working with the elements and using knowledge, intuition, skill, time and desire to create something from small beginnings.

I remain positive about the growing season ahead, surely there cant be as many slugs and pigeons this year… can there? And as for cutting lino, I’m in it for the long haul.

plotplates_web

allotments2_web600

2 thoughts on “the end of one season and the start of the new.

  1. When I was a kid I would often go and see my grand dad pull up veggies from his allotment in Erdington. Sadly my mum has just given up her allotment but hopefully one day I’ll set up a little area down here in Auckland, to form a community of veggie lovers đŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for your comment. I think that once you have enjoyed the pleasure of home-grown veg shop-bought veg will always be second best. Good luck in Auckland.

Leave a Reply

